Loading Events

« All Events

Event Series Event Series: AARP Tax Assistance

AARP Tax Assistance

February 27 @ 9:00 am - 1:30 pm

The Life Center is a site for AARP’s in-person volunteer tax preparation. There is no income or age restriction for receiving this service. Simply call 303-953-7180 (or visit cotaxaide.org) to make an appointment, fill out the necessary paperwork before you arrive, and allow at least 90 minutes for your free tax service (simple returns may take less time and complex forms may take longer).

Before AARP can start your service, you MUST complete:

  • Form 13614-C Intake/Interview and Quality Review Sheet
  • SUPPLEMENTAL INTAKE FORMS if your tax return includes any of these:
    • Itemized Deductions
    • Self-Employment (1099-NEC)
    • Alimony Paid or Received
    • Education Credit (1098-T)
    • Health Savings Account
    • Married Filing Separately
    • Non-Cash Charity Deduction Above $500
    • Early Distribution of Retirement (1099-R)

These forms and supplements can be picked up from the Life Center or printed after clicking the link in your appointment confirmation email.

BE SURE TO BRING THE FOLLOWING TO YOUR APPOINTMENT

  • INDENTITY VERIFICATION – Government-issued photo ID for yourself and spouse
  • SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER VERIFICATION – Social Security card or ITN paperwork for yourself, spouse, and ALL dependents. (Tax form SSA-1099 is also acceptable).
  • Bank account routing number and account number – from a check is best.
  • All tax documents received – W-2, 1099s, 1098s, 1095s, etc.
  • If claiming a Child Care Credit, bring a letter showing Provider Name, Address, Amount Paid, Child’s Name, and Provider’s Tax ID Number.
  • A copy of last year’s return is helpful.
  • All documents MUST be in printed paper form. We cannot print your documents and do not want to handle your phone, tablet, or computer.
  • Please open all envelopes and have your tax documents ready.
  • If you are filing Married Joint, bring your spouse.

DATES/TIMES

Tuesdays, 9:00 AM – 1:30 PM

  • February 6, 13, 20, 27
  • March 5, 12, 19, 26
  • April 2, 9

 

FAQs

How can I schedule an appointment?

You can call the Life Center (303-953-7180) or visit cotaxaide.org.

 

What if I no longer need my appointment?

If you no longer need your appointment, please call 303-953-7180 to let us know so we can use this time for another person who needs our service.

 

What if I am sick on the day of my appointment?

If you are ill or have a cold or fever, please do not come to your appointment. Cancel your appointment and we will schedule you another one.

Call 303-953-7180 for appointment questions or changes.

 

Who can I contact with tax-related questions?

TEXT: 720-600-2953

EMAIL: 61052103@aarpfoundation.org

 

Why are appointments available only on a rolling basis?

New appointment slots open on Thursdays. Opening appointments on a rolling basis increases the volunteers’ capacity to serve more taxpayers.

  • It allows flexibility to handle adverse weather closures.
  • It gives us the ability to manage attendance and reduces no-shows.
    • People tend to forget about appointments made far in the future.
    • People make other arrangements and forget to cancel their appointment.
    • People make multiple appointments and forget to cancel their unused appointment.

Here are the dates when tax appointments will open:

Date Opened                       Date Available to Schedule Tax Appointment
AARP (No income Limit) VITA ($70k income limit)
Thursday, Jan. 18 Tuesday, Feb. 6 + Tuesday, Feb. 13 Wednesday, Feb. 7 + Wednesday, Feb. 14
Thursday, Feb. 1 Tuesday, Feb. 20 Wednesday, Feb. 21
Thursday, Feb. 8 Tuesday, Feb. 27 Wednesday, Feb. 28
Thursday, Feb. 15 Tuesday, Mar. 5 Wednesday, Mar. 6
Thursday, Feb. 22 Tuesday, Mar. 12 Wednesday, Mar. 13
Thursday, Feb. 29 Tuesday, Mar. 19 Wednesday, Mar. 20
Thursday, Mar. 7 Tuesday, Mar. 26 Wednesday, Mar. 27
Thursday, Mar. 14 Tuesday, Apr. 2 Wednesday, Apr. 3
Thursday, Mar. 21 Tuesday, Apr. 9 Wednesday, Apr. 10

 

What is the difference between AARP and VITA tax preparation?

Both AARP and VITA tax preparation are done by the same group of volunteers. Your experience will be the same regardless of which type of appointment you have. The only difference between the programs is that AARP has no income restriction for those seeking assistance, while those with VITA appointments must have an annual income of $70,000 or less.

Details

Date:
February 27
Time:
9:00 am - 1:30 pm
Series:

Venue

Life Center Littleton
5804 S. Datura St.
Littleton, CO 80120 United States
+ Google Map
Phone
303.953.7180